items in your basket - total   Checkout

Stenlake Publishing - Old Wigtownshire

Old Wigtownshire

Author : Jack Hunter
ISBN : 9781840336603
Cover : paperback
Price : £19.95

This illustrated history has about 200 photos of the old county of Wigtownshire plus a detailed text by Jack Hunter, who has written many books on the area and has a keen understanding of its history from the time of the Vikings and early Christian influence to the rural industries and employment of the 19th and 20th centuries. Every town and village in the area is dealt with here from the Mull of Galloway to the Machars: Drummore, Port Logan, Ardwell, Kirkmadrine, Sandhead, Stoneykirk, Lochans, Portpatrick, Stranraer, Leswalt, Kirkcolm, Cairnryan, Corsewall, Dunragit, New Luce, Glenluce Abbey, Glenluce, Glen of Luce, Mochrum, Port William, Monreith, Kirkmaiden, Isle of Whithorn, Whithorn, Garlieston, Sorbie, Whauphill, Kirkinner, Bladnoch, Wigtown, Kirkcowan and Newton Stewart.

Old Wigtownshire